top of page

Ricardo at Socrates Sculpture Park

This Summer, Ricardo, a DeHostos Dreamer and recent Studio Art graduate from Stony Brook University, set a new WISIP precedent. Since he felt so strongly about his fit there the year prior, he returned to his internship site for a second year to continue to learn with the Socrates Sculpture Park team. They say if it isn't broken, don't fix it and the proof is in the compounded growth Ricardo experienced in his return. Read about his experience over the two years from the man himself!

 

Two years ago, I didn’t have the slightest idea what Socrates Sculpture Park was. I have been an artist my entire life so once I heard it was an outdoor sculpture museum, I was already sold. My interview day was my first time walking into the park where I was greeted by goat statues from their exhibition, Nari Ward: G.O.A.T., again. I knew from that point that working in an artistic environment was going to be where I shine best.

Socrates is a small team but they mean business. All of the events, such as Outdoor Cinema, Jazz performances, Saturday art workshops, and entire art exhibitions, make Long Island City a tight-knit and welcoming community. It’s impressive to see a team of less than 10 people be able to bring all these events to life (don’t worry - there’s more than triple the number of events than what I listed).

Ricardo sitting in Socrates Sculpture Park with his 2018 supervisor, Sara

As an intern, I did a little bit of everything. I designed cards, banners, and weekly email blasts. I strengthened my photography skills by shooting during events and exhibitions. I also assisted in setting up events. I even designed the universal signage that is still used throughout the park. There were an endless number of tasks but there was never a time that I felt overwhelmed.

To be welcomed back to Socrates for a second Summer was one of the greatest opportunities given to me. I felt welcome again and like I was picking up where I left off. Now that my supervisors were aware of my skills, I was able to polish old projects and take on bigger tasks. I felt more like a co-worker and less like an intern. I became a problem solver through projects like fixing the website. I felt challenged as I became responsible and independent without constant guidance over me. I learned how to manage my time and prioritize projects. It was a chance to show that I was capable of showing results. Again, though the experience was challenging, I never felt overwhelmed.

Socrates Sculpture Park helped strengthen my career interests in marketing and graphic design. It was great seeing the process of an idea come to life. Working with a small team helped me see the importance of teamwork. I will continue to pursue a career in a place where I can think creatively. I learned that I will not always love the tasks that I am doing but it shouldn’t stop me from putting in my all.

 

We congratulate Ricardo on having such a wonderful second Summer with Socrates Sculpture Park and wish him nothing but the best as he enters the working world as a new college graduate. Thank you Socrates Sculpture Park (especially Katie Horowitz and Sara Morgan who supervised him over the two Summers!) for helping him develop the skills and experience to be successful!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page